Maghaz Masala

Maghaz in Arabic language means ‘Brain’ in English, and ‘Bheja‘ in Urdu language. Maghaz masala is one of my favorite dishes only next to Nihari that I look forward to after every Qurbani. Eid-ul-Adha is a time when Muslims pray for forgiveness from God and pray for an increased strength in faith by refreshing the sprit of sacrifice for virtue and rectitude.

Just after the Qurbani on Eid-Ul-Adha, also called as Bakri Eid, muslims around the world, feast on red meat dishes, ranging from Biryanis, Nihari and many other kinds of its meat and organ meat preperations. Among them, Maghaz masala is one of the famous organ meat preperations, usually had as breakfast on Eid-ul-Adha after the Qurbani, which is easy to cook and most delicious. you will relish the excuisite and creamy flavor of the dish along with the sweet caramelized onions and spicy green chillies and fresh aromatic herbs. 

This dish is also called as Bheja fry in some places in Hyderabad.

Maghaz/Brain Masala:

Ingredients

  • Sheep’s brain – 2
  • Canola oil – 2 to 3 tbsp
  • Yellow Onion – 1, large, finely sliced
  • Ginger garlic paste – 1 1/2 tsp
  • Red chilli powder – 1 tsp
  • Turmeric – 1/4 tsp
  • Green chillies – 4, finely chopped
  • Salt – to taste
  • Roasted coriander seeds powder – 1/2 tsp
  • Cilantro – 2 tbsp, finely chopped
  • Lemon juice – 2 to 3 tsp
Maghaz/Brain Masala

Method:

  • Bring about a litre of water to boil. Close the heat and dip the whole brains into the hot water for about 2-3 minutes. Remove the brains from the water, and throw away the water. Wear gloves, carefully remove the membrane adhering to the brain and as many nerves as possible. You can also ask your butcher to do this. Once the brain is clean (it wont matter if a few nerves are till attached to the brain), cut it into bite size pieces. Keep aside. 
  • Pour oil into a medium sized non-stick frying pan and as soon as it gets warm, add the sliced onions and fry them on a medium high, with a careful eye so thet you do not burn them, until they are golden brown in color.
  • Lower the heat to medium low and add ginger-garlic paste, turmeric and red chilli powder. Stir fry till a nice aroma comes, for about a minute or so, then add the cubed brain pieces. Add about half cup of water, salt and green chillies for a slight zest to the dish. Mix it all gently with a rubber spatula. Cover the pan with a lid and let cook for around 5 minutes.
  • Remove the lid, and add the coriander seed powder. Stir fry for a minute more, until no water is left and it is mostly dry and well cooked. Serve onto a platter and garnish with cilantro, and sprinkle with lemon juice. Enjoy it warm.

Suggested Accompaniments: Enjoy Maghaz masala along with some warm parathas for a delicious breakfast.

Cheers,
Mona

Tags: , , , , , ,

No Responses to “Maghaz Masala”

  1. mummyjaan Says:

    Mmmmm…. delectable. This is a fairly common breakfast dish too, with rotis. Though you have to get to the local butcher’s quite early to get fresh ‘bheja’.

    Oh btw, how come this post got hardly any comments? I’m guessing fried sheep’s brain isn’t a hit with your readers!

  2. Amina Anjum Says:

    Asak Mona.

    Fried sheep’s brain is a yummmy….. dish and i really miss it here in dammam, thanks for sending me this recipe as i miss all the eid celebration in hyd

    again eid mubarak to all in ur family.

    amina anjum

  3. meeso Says:

    It looks good, but when I was in seventh grade, our science teacher brought in sheeps brains and cooked them in class… and most the kids wouldn’t even touch it, and I tried it… and I did NOT like it! The texture about killed me!!! But your dish looks great, and I’m sure it did taste good 🙂

  4. Mona Says:

    Consuming sheep’s brain might be a taboo food to some people, but for those of you willing to experiment and try out new victuals, do try it out. I am sure you will enjoy this mellow and delicate Hyderabadi dish.

  5. yasmeen Says:

    The Bheja fry with roti was my favorite brunch on bakrid.Its strange I never liked the bheja of US sheep,the Indian sheep bheja was tastier for me.

  6. Cynthia Says:

    Mona, thanks for the education of this post.

  7. shaikhmohammed Says:

    first of all pls accept my salam and belated EID MUBARAK. i must admit that BHEJA FRY is not that bheja fry which normally people say for boriing. it is really UMMY. thanks.

  8. Syeda Says:

    Salam Mona, belated eid mubarak! your bheja fry looks really good(I mean sheep’s bheja fry)lol. You know people have love/hate realationship with sheep’s organ meat, we either LOVE it or we HATE it, I love kaleji,gurda…but never tried to eat bheja or even zabaan in nihaari…or the boti, I may try bheja and zabaan ,but I can never dream of eating the Boti….

  9. Vij Says:

    Hi ya
    The post looks so yummy.
    I am bothering you for a favor. I have tasted Hyderabadi kichdi at my friend’s place. I remem she making it with basmati rice, red lentils, whole masalas, mint leaves and meat kheema. I would like to have the recipe for it. Can ya pls mail me that?

    Thanks
    Cheers
    Vij

  10. Vij Says:

    Eid wishes to u!

  11. anjum Says:

    Asak mona, lovely post after bakrid.,although i don like organ meat much …my husband simply loves it.,he plans to goto india for a vacation for bakrid off just to eat all tht stuff…ur recipe is simple n nice

  12. Mallika Says:

    Happy Eid! I’ve never cooked brain before. What’s the texture like?

  13. Mona Says:

    Maghaz masala is soft and creamy in texture. You will enjoy it.

  14. Amna Says:

    Thnx for posting this lovely recipe….Mona, never really imagined I wud find one on the internet….thnx a million,I am looking forward to make it and will definetly post a review of ur recipe in the comments section,
    Belated Eid mubarak and have a nice day..

  15. varunavi Says:

    all the dishes mentioned in ur blog reminds me of my mother in laws kitchen in hyderabad. could u suggest a easy way to devein the magaz?do u have the recipie for ambada ghost and ambada boti? thanks for visiting my blog

  16. Mona Says:

    Varunavi, Butchers here devein the Brain themselves usually, so if your butcher can do it, ask him. Otherwise if you follow the instructions above, you should be able to do it fine.
    I just love Ambada Gosht and Ambada boti, but the sad thing is that I dont get Ambada in the markets here where I currently live. I guess I’ll enjoy it only when I visit Hyderabad inshallah.

Leave a comment